I’m So Fucking Modern

One of the great things about the rise of Myspace was the access it gave the fans to the artist. Musicians and filmmakers were no longer completely out of reach, hidden behind a world of secrets and us/them mentality. I remember being amazed when I was having full, normal conversations with Jorg Buttgereit, Fred Vogel and Nick Palumbo, it was amazing. I could get PO Boxes and send them music, I got no feedback but the simple fact that some of my favourite artists now held my records in their possession. Usually people would be very good at replying, more so than by direct email, you could connect with people with similar interests, and especially in small scenes such as noise this was of the utmost important. Something I have noticed over the last year or so since people started deleting their myspace profiles is small, stranger artists have suddenly retreated back from this connection. As most of the world now networks via facebook, once again there is a divide, no longer replies saying “thanks for this, I will check it out” just blank silence. Soundcloud, more often than not contains artists who follow almost no one, while their followers grow in number. Is it that people no longer have an interest in getting feedback from the world? Allowing other influences to come in? Does the modern day musician or label not want to be bothered by other people? Or is it simply some kind of elitism, to keep the musical bloodline pure?

I have to say I’m curious about this, it might be read as “Oh god! No one wants to be my friend!”, this isn’t the case, I’m not so worried about followers on soundcloud and friends on facebook, I have enough, most of the time when people add me its because of the musical work I do and to be honest I’ve tried to keep this intractability simply because I feel it is important to do so. I guess I’m shocked that within microscenes people would attempt to keep people out. Noise does this very well without such techniques, people will just instantly hate such music by its very nature.

However, in a world such as hip hop, I find they have the attitude right: REACH EVERYONE, maybe its about the money. Maybe its about remaining hidden for the kudos. I’m not sure anymore.

In retaliation I will now openly answer ANY question anyone has, be it about synths or refrigerator repair. antonmaiof(at)gmail.com

Leave a Reply

